Being content, not happy (Series)

Being Content

I wanted to start with a basic post that defines the essence of this blog and also thank you joining me in this exciting adventure.

Being content is not the same as being happy because happiness depends on happenings. When expectations are met and I’m full of warm feelings I feel extremely happy. There is nothing wrong with feeling happy but in my opinion happiness should never be a goal in life. In a “content lifestyle” expectations are out of the picture. Having a thankful heart is essential, developing the ability to think logically and trusting God are the main keys to achieving that lifestyle. Being content is more about finding joy in life moments that are imperfect, unplanned and unexpected. Being content is so much about being thankful for what you have, where you are in life, who you are, and that goes beyond your social status, how much money you make, the car you drive or your zip code. I hope we will all be able to achieve a joyful and thankful spirit to live every day content.

“Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation , whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:11-13

I will revisit this topic quite often and will talk about specifics that will help us in a journey to becoming content people.

2 thoughts on “Being content, not happy (Series)

  1. Maressa, I love every one of your entries. Your recipes are beautiful, your scriptures are inspirational, your words are so wise, and your photos are professional. You should have your own magazine!
    Love,
    Sue

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

