DIY – Bath bombs for children

bathbabyMy niece Levia is turning 1 and I just finished making her the cutest hello kitty bath bombs. The lavender scent is perfect for a relaxing and soothing baby bath while the fun colors will entertain her. I hope she will like it.

Here is what I used to achieve this project:

1 cup of baking soda

1/2 cup of citric acid

1/2 cup of corn starch

6 – 8 table spoons of lavender baby oil

2 table spoons of water

A few drops of food coloring

Kello Kitty mold or any mold of your preference

A baking sheet or a flat surface

bathbombs4babiesHow I made it:

I added the baking soda, citric acid and corn starch to a large bowl. Mixed the dry ingredients well, then added 3 table spoons of lavender baby oil to the mix and continued mixing it with my hands. Next, I added 3 more table spoons of baby oil and continued mixing, once the mix was wet and getting closer to the wet sand consistency I wanted, I added 1 table spoon of water and mixed well. I added another table spoon of water and the consistency was perfect. I split the recipe into small bowls, I added food coloring to each individual bowl one drop at a time to achieve the shades I wanted. 2 drops of red created a pretty pink, 2 drops of green created this amazing mint color and 2 drops of red with 2 drops of blue created the prettiest lavender color and 2 drops of yellow created the pale yellow shade. I filled in the hello kitty mold with the mix by pressing it well and to unmold it, I gently tapped the top of the mold with a spoon into a baking sheet. You have to be very gentle when tapping because the mix can break easily. If it breaks, simply gather the mix together and place it in the mold again. Some batches will turn out to be too dry and that’s why they will break easily when unmolding, to fix that, simply add more oil and water to the batch. Let them dry for 2 days before packing or using them.

I had a little left over from each color that wouldn’t fill a hello kitty mold so I made them into little hearts so nothing was wasted.

This recipe made 9 bath bombs and 14 little hearts.

hkbathbombs

yellowbathbomblavenderbathbomb

2 thoughts on “DIY – Bath bombs for children

Leave a Reply

