Being content and not comparing yourself to others (Series)

IMAG4216My comparing habits started when I was a teenager, I wished I was taller and had curves like my other friends in high school. I would use chamomile shampoo in hopes to lighten my brunette hair and asked for green contact lenses once as a birthday present. I had a strange tendency to wish I was the opposite of who I was and I wasted a lot of time not appreciating the beautiful person God made me to be.

I started growing out of that destructive stage a few years ago when God continuously reaffirmed His special love for me. He gently opened my heart to understand His everlasting love for me, then He opened my eyes to see the beautiful person that He made me to be and finally He opened my mind to comprehend how much He thought about me while creating me. God cared about each detail that composes the whole person I am today and that totally includes how I look, my talents and abilities. I am so grateful for His love for me and His beautiful thoughts about me. Once I grasped all of that, my whole perspective changed, I learned to appreciate the person He made me to be because He loves me and cares about each little detail.

God made me and He made you just as we are and we are very precious and beautiful in His eyes. No matter what other people think about you, or if you are not confident with who you are today, God sees you as perfect. That is true love and that can change your life just like it changed mine. Comparing ourselves to other people will never bring anything positive to our lives, we are called to be the best version of ourselves that we can possibly be. That we can do!

“You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex. Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it.” Psalm 139:13-14

2 thoughts on “Being content and not comparing yourself to others (Series)

Leave a Reply

