Restyling old pants

pants2This year I decided to not shop for new clothes in retail stores and shop only in local thrift stores, if I ever need anything. My key word is need, not want. I can proudly say that I haven’t purchased new clothes at all since January 1st, 2015. The reason why I’m doing this is because I want to control my shopping addictions and live a more simple and significant life. It was not easy at first, I battled some temptations, but staying focused on my goal really helped me in these last 4 months.

I feel like restyling old clothes can give me a sense that they are somehow ‘new’, specially if I haven’t worn them in while. I found these old pants in a bag and realized that I haven’t worn them in the last 6 months because I was planning on donating them. I tried them on and really liked the washed off look of it, but wanted to give them an even more worn out look to consider keeping them. I went across the pants left knee area with a pair of scissors and cut off about half an inch of the denim in that area. I tried them on again and really liked the final look. I’ve been wearing them a lot more since and decided to keep them, at least for now.

Leave a Reply

