DIY – Natural toothpaste for sensitive teeth

toothpasteAbout 4 months ago my teeth became super sensitive. I changed my Crest toothpaste but it didn’t fix the problem. I did some research on natural toothpaste and learned that baking soda could be a good substitute for toothpaste when mixed with a little bit of water. I gave it a try for a few days and the sensitivity went away quickly, I’m talking 2-3days. I was super excited because all of the sudden my teeth were healthy again and they also seemed whiter. I used baking soda and water for a few weeks and decided to add coconut oil to the baking soda to give my new toothpaste a creamier texture. I continued using that for a few more weeks. The coconut oil was not my favorite mix so I went back to water and baking soda and used that for about 2 moths. Now I’m back to regular toothpaste and my teeth are doing great. I’m very happy with the results and if my teeth were ever to be sensitive again I will definitely go back to my baking soda toothpaste.

Natural toothpaste recipe:

In a small plate or container, add 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon of water. Mix the ingredients well. Add the mix to your toothbrush and brush your teeth as usual.

For the coconut oil recipe, add 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon of coconut oil together in a container or small plate. Mix both ingredients well. Add the mix to your toothbrush and brush your teeth with it.

This experiment is based on my own personal experience, I’m not sure if that would work for everyone so please take it easy if you try that. I had nothing to loose because my teeth were already sensitive and regular toothpaste was only making things worse.

Leave a Reply

