Conquering fear

FreefromfearI struggle with fear from time to time, not fear of death, ghosts or poverty, but fear of stupid things like snakes or the wilderness. I was travelling with my husband last Thursday and he spotted beautiful golden hills that were the perfect location for pictures. He was headed towards it, while I was paralyzed on the side of the road looking for snakes in the area.  I was freaking out to step into that unknown territory.

I courageously took a few steps in, but ran back to the curb and was not able to freely walk through it, even though there were no snakes around. We hopped back in the car and I said: “I don’t want to miss out in life because of fear.” I prayed and gave my fears to God, I told Him that I needed courage and wanted to be brave. Next thing I know, I was walking through the field with my mind set on God. I was able to stand there because God was with me and He is bigger than my fears. I praise God for this victory, it might be small one, but when we look to Him in small things, He can help us to conquer even bigger things.

freefromfear
“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me.” Psalm 23:4
Leave a Reply

