Prayer.

prayer
‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’ Jeremiah 33:3

Photography by Miria Moreton

I’ve been having amazing prayer times lately, mostly because I’m investing more time in prayer and allowing myself to be emerged in God’s presence. I’ve been doing a few things differently and those small changes have made my prayer times way more productive and special, so I’ll share with you what I’ve been doing.

An assigned quiet place. I’ve chosen my living room or bedroom for my one to one time with God because both places are comfortable and quiet. Obviously we can pray continuously whenever we are, but I believe that it’s very important to have a favorite place to meet daily with the Lord. If I was going out on date night with my husband I would carefully pick a special place that we both like to have the most enjoyable time. I think it’s important to also have that same mindset with God.

Time. I think it’s also important to not have a time limit when going into prayer. Limiting ourselves to 10-15 minutes will definitely affect our prayer time and make it less productive. I’ve been going into prayer without a time limit and that has changed everything and has brought me to a new level with God.

Time again. What is your best time of the day? When are you the most awake, the most energetic and inspired? If it’s at 9am, then that should be your prayer time, if it’s at 1pm, then that’s the best time for you. Our prayer time should be done when we perform at our best. My best time of the day is 1 to 2 hours after I wake up, that’s when I’m the most awake and ready, so that’s the time I go into prayer.

Eliminating distractions. Eliminating all sorts of distractions is essential to me because I get easily distracted with objects around me and even my nails can be a source of distraction, so turning my environment as dark and basic as possible is ideal. I also avoid having my phone close to me during that time.

Thanksgiving. I start my prayers thanking God for the amazing things He gives me everyday. There is so much that we can be thankful for.

Requests. I also pray for friends and family in specific areas that they are struggling. I then present my personal requests.

Worship. Worshiping God, praising His majesty, glory, goodness and exulting His name is the most essential part of prayer in my opinion. God loves to hear from us what we think about Him and we surely touch His heart during that time.

Inviting. This part of prayer is the most amazing experience on earth to me. It’s when I invite God to come and speak to me. I give it a moment and He comes and speaks. If it takes a moment for Him to come, I whisper ‘I know you are here, speak to me, I need to hear you’. He then involves me in the warmth of His presence, ministers to my heart and fills my spirit with joy and strength. There is so much He has to say if we give Him the time to. During this time, we can also talk to Him, but it’s so much more precious to hear.

Stay. I stay in His presence until He speaks no more. I try to stay as focused as I can and listen as much as I can.

Thanksgiving again. I thank Him for our time together and start my bible reading at that time. I know that He will speak to me once again during my bible reading.

Here are some verses about prayer that I think are awesome to remember:

‘Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.’ Jeremiah 29:12

‘Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.’ Colossians 4:2

‘But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.’ Matthew 6:6

Leave a Reply

