Black Iced Tea

icetea1We are having the most beautiful summer days here in the Central Coast, the days are long, warm and bright. The smell of BBQ is common through the day, but at sunsets, while the skies graciously transition from pink to purple to hues of orange, a nostalgic smell of bonfire fills the air and it feels so much like summer!

Today was one of those hot summer afternoons and a black iced tea was due to refresh myself and fight that lazy vacation feeling. Since I didn’t want to drive all the way to Starbucks, I quickly brought 1 cup of water to boil and placed 4 tea bags in it and let it simmer for about 5 minutes. I removed the tea bags and poured half of that tea in a coffee thermos, then added about 1/2 a cup of water, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and 5 ice cubes, closed the lid and shook it well.

I poured the ice tea into a larger glass with more ice cubes (loving mint ice cubes right now). My ice tea was deliciously reinvigorating and I was able to get all my work done today!

“You set the boundaries of the earth, and you made both summer and winter.” Psalm 74:15

Icetea

Leave a Reply

