Listening – Communication Series

communicationI’m starting a new communication series because I believe that good communication is essential to build strong and lasting relationships. I have a desire to consistently understand what others are communicating, as well as make myself clearly understood. The cool thing is that it is possible to achieve that, but I have to be intentional about it to finally get there.

I’ve been learning new tips about verbal communication and I have to admit that it’s been quite a challenge, but extremely fun and rewarding at the same time. If you are interested in this topic and would like to improve your communication skills, join me here for more practical tips.

My very first tip on communication is: Listening.

I was doing some research in the bible to see what God had to say about communication and it was amazing to me that this very relatable verse to our topic, found in James 1:19, starts of like this: “Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to get angry…”. Listening should be our very first step to achieve successful communication.

If we focus wholeheartedly on what the other person is saying, instead of focusing on what we have to say, then our listening will be effective. Eliminating all sorts of distractions, such as computers, TVs, cell phones, as well as clearing our minds of other thoughts and choosing to give our undivided attention will definitely improve the course of our conversations. When we don’t listen properly we are unable to respond appropriately, so practicing active listening is the first step to a successful and productive conversation 🙂

One thought on “Listening – Communication Series

Leave a Reply

