Minimalist Home

home“By wisdom a house is built, and by understanding it is established; by knowledge the rooms are filled with all precious and pleasant riches.” Proverbs 24:3-4

For as long as I can remember I’ve been fascinated by minimalist architecture and home interiors. Unobstructed spaces always gave me a sense of peace, balance, freedom and creativity. It might be boring to some, but plain walls and uncluttered ambiances are very comforting to someone like me.

I don’t live in a modern and sophisticated place, but I’ve been adapting a more minimalist lifestyle over the last 6 months. Decluttering is bringing a significant impact in the style and design of my house even though I’m not investing on new art pieces or fancy furniture.

Today I was going through my kitchen cupboards and I got rid of many useless Tupperware containers, cups and mugs that I had no intention in ever using. I also went through my closet and got rid of 2 large bags of clothes, shoes and toiletries. I’m loving downsizing and reorganizing the new space that open up right before my eyes. This process is giving me an opportunity to detach emotionally from material possessions and focus on what truly matters. I spend less time shopping and more time with my husband, more time reading and writing, less time looking online for a new dress.

This journey of living a simple and significant life is extremely liberating, fascinating and worth it. Once it takes place in our homes everything becomes more comfortable and clear.

Home is a place we should feel at peace, comfortable, free, creative and inspired, when I look around, that’s what I feel, that’s what I see and I’m loving every bit of it.

2 thoughts on “Minimalist Home

Leave a Reply

