Do not answer – Communication Series

Communication“And Jesus responded, “Then I won’t tell you by what authority I do these things.” Matthew 21:27

I grew up believing that I had to have an answer for each question someone would ever ask me. There was pressure and a sense of obligation to it and I never liked the lack of options there were for me, specially when those conversations took place with a co-worker or a stranger.

It was mind blowing when I learned that I didn’t have to answers to every single question (or comment) that was ever made to me or around me. I was finally free from the stress to have to come up with something and that made my life so much easier. Not responding, commenting or answering has also helped me to avoid a lot of gossip.

If you have been reading Every Day Content long enough, you know that I’m in  constant search for scriptures that can relate to my every day life. I was reading Matthew 21 the other day and when I read verse 27, I was like…wait, what? Jesus literally said “I won’t tell you by what authority I do these things“?? I had a huge smile on face while reading that verse a second time.

If Jesus refused to answer to a question, I am also allowed to not answer, comment or participate in certain conversations that make me feel uncomfortable. It might be a little awkward in the moment for the person asking or even for ourselves, but I believe that if we do it long enough it will easily become second nature.

I’ve been thinking about some polite ways to avoid answering and here are some simple and basic ideas:

I don’t feel comfortable talking about this or I am not comfortable answering your question.

I would rather not talk about it or I would rather not answer this question.

I don’t have an answer for you.

I am unable to answer your question, would you like to talk about something else?

If there is resistance to those answers, we can remove ourselves from the situation by using this:

I feel that you are not respecting my decision, please excuse me. (remove yourself physically from that environment)

I believe that it’s best to go with a simple and quick response in those moments rather than trying to make it emotional and complicated. Since the idea is to not get involved in the conversation, I think that the shorter and simpler will always come across more effectively.

I hope these tips were helpful, feel free to leave a comment or not 😉

Leave a Reply

