My personal guide to Monterey – California

IMAG3647
Photography by Mark Townsend – Pacific Grove

My husband and I got married in Monterey almost 3 years ago and since then this little town has a special place in our hearts. We take constant trips to Monterey and never get tired of it. We have seen it in every season and I personally love each one of them.

We just spent 3 magical days there and I have to share with you my favorite places in town.

Beaches

Photography by Mark Townsend – Carmel

Carmel is the most beautiful beach I’ve ever seen. I love the white sand, the trees and the immense turquoise ocean surrounded by green hills. Carmel beach is a perfect place to be any time of the year. Bring your puppy over for a long walk, this is a pet friendly beach.

Pacific Grove, is the most beautiful beach you will ever see during the spring. The whole coast turns purple and for a girl this is heaven on earth.

FxCam_1336595211112
Photography by Mark Townsend – Pacific Grove

Parks

FxCam_1328045639842
Photography by Mark Townsend – George Washington Park

George Washington Park is a more foresty type of Park with ivy and tall trees everywhere. I love hiking in their trails and exploring the nature at the sound of woodpeckers.

Lover’s Point has perfect soft green grass that makes it an ideal place for a picnic. Sometimes we throw the frisbee and exercise there, it’s also a great place for that.

If you go for a walk on the beach path from Lover’s Point heading toward the large rocks, you will find tones of squirrels that live there and you can feed them. They eat from your hand and are the cutest things. They prefer natural cashews or nuts, avoid giving them the ones with honey or artificial flavors. They don’t like those, plus they are not healthy for them.

Breakfast & Brunch

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Photography Mark Townsend at Toasties

When it comes to breakfast & brunch there is only one place for me – Toasties.  They have amazing huevos rancheros, waffles, omelets, sandwiches and much more. Their atmosphere is cute and homey. Their staff is amazing and the food is delicious and affordable.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Photo by Maressa – Toasties

Restaurants

FxCam_1441845341513-1-1
Photography by Mark Townsend – Lalla Grill

Lalla Grill has a very fancy, modern and elevated atmosphere. The cool thing is that you don’t have to pay a fortune to eat there. Their salads run from $9-$10 and the plates for $13+. Trust me, they have a large variety of delicious foods and everything they do is excellent!

La Piccolla Casa

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
By Maressa at Piccola Casa

La Picolla Casa has authentic homemade Italian food and a super cozy atmosphere. I love going there for a spicy cinnamon tea when I’m not hungry for lunch. They have the best pastas and teas ever!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Photography by Mark Townsend – Piccola Casa

Papa Chano’s

I love Mexican food and Papa Chano’s is my favorite mexican place in town, their food is fresh and light. I’m a fan of their burritos and tostadas. They make freshly squeezed orange juice that I absolutely love!

El Torito

Another mexican place I enjoy is El Torito, they have delicious spinach enchiladas and the best flan. They are right on the water and dinning there at sunsets is dreamy.

Papa John’s

Whenever we want to grab a pizza to go Papa John’s is the one we call. Their pizzas are simply the best.

Desserts

FxCam_1416452493828
Photography by Mark Townsend – Ghirardelli

Ghirardelli has delicious ice creams and chocolates. I love sharing a sundae with my husband while watching the ocean from their outside patio.

The Candy stores on Cannery Row or on the Wharf are also a good option for dessert. You can buy some freshly made caramel toffee or gummy bears and walk around town eating them.

Places to Stay

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset
By Maressa – Sea Breeze Inn & Cottages

When it comes to traveling I’m a happy camper pretty much anywhere that is clean and comfy. We have found a cute Inn called Sea Breeze & Cottages in Pacific Grove and since then we have stayed there because the prices are great, the location is excellent and the rooms are also pretty clean.

We have stayed in almost every Motel on Munras Ave over the years for $49 a night, but over there it’s a hit or miss, but if I had to refer some motels I would go with the Surfer Inn or America’s Best Value Inn.

Monterey is such an amazing place and there are so many fun things to do and explore. I’ll always go back there and if I learn of new awesome places I’ll certainly share more with you here.

Thanks for reading!

 

2 thoughts on “My personal guide to Monterey – California

Leave a Reply

