Overcoming Fear is Fun!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7

I was watching my two nieces play at the beach playground yesterday. Levia, who is 18 months old would hop up the slide stairs on her knees and slide all the way down by herself while Eliya, 4 years old, would wait at the very top of it and refuse to slide down.

Eliya was scared while Levia would freely slide down again and again.  My sister encouraged Eliya to be brave and slide, but she looked at it and wouldn’t do it.

She asked her mom to slide with her, but my sister and I were not in the mood to play in the slide. Eliya realized that if she wanted to overcome her fear, she would have to do it on her own, so she finally sat on the border of it and slid down.

“Mommy, it was so much fun!”, she said, while running up the stairs to slide again. She laughed and smiled each time she did it.

I loved watching her overcome her fear so courageously and finally have fun in the slide. Her fear was a deception that kept her from having fun and experiencing something extraordinary.

I remind myself often that Fear is a False Evidence Appearing Real. Fear somehow can convince us of an nonexistent danger and if we believe it, it will keep us from missing out on many extraordinary things.

Let’s choose to live courageously, overcome our fears and have fun in life.

I keep a quote on my board that says “Do something that scares you everyday” and each time I take courage and do those things that are scary to me, those moments become the most memorable of my life. Eliya can certainly say the same!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

