DIY – Mint File Cabinet

mint file cabinetI bought a file cabinet on Craigslist for $8 a few months ago and I wanted to give it a pretty make over, however, I wasn’t sure about what color I would spray paint it. The file cabinet sat in our music room until I made a final decision about the color of it.

I love pastel nuances and lately I’ve been in love with mint colors, so I went to Walmart and got a $3.95 Rust Oleum spray paint in the color ocean mist.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Before

I cleaned the dust off the file cabinet, took the drawers out and gave it a first coat. I let it dry for 1 hour before giving it a second coat… and ta-dah!

mint file cabinet
After!

I wanted to make sure that the paint was fully dry before handling it, so I waited 2 hours before moving the file cabinet from my back yard into the music room.

The spray can lasted through the whole process, but let me mention that I didn’t spray paint the back of the file cabinet, if I had done so, I would have needed 2 bottles.

I let the paint dry for 48 hours before adding the drawers and files in.

I loved the result and am excited to create a pretty office space in this room.

Thanks for reading!

mint file cabinet

Leave a Reply

